Quebec Planning and Development Bureau. In 1969, the Quebec Planning Board, created the previous year, became the Quebec Planning and Development Bureau, a corporate body administered by a Director General, who is chairman, and five other members.

The Bureau is responsible for economic, social and territorial development. It prepares economic, social and territorial development plans, programs and projects; collects data and information; co-ordinates research and formulates recommendations; advises the government on the policies and programs of governmental agencies and departments; and acts as a co-ordinating agency between government departments and organizations. The Bureau also directs and ensures the carrying out of any plan, program or project for economic and social development entrusted to it by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and acts as co-ordinator and project supervisor and administers the funds entrusted to it.

Two organizations advise the Bureau on subjects referred to them for consultation: the Interdepartmental Planning and Development Council, comprising all deputy ministers of the Quebec government, and the Quebec Planning and Development Committee which represents Quebec socio-economic organizations, major specialized councils, regional

representatives and special members.

The Bureau is responsible for administering the following agreements. The Canada-Quebec Co-operation Agreement for Development of the Lower St. Lawrence, Gaspé and Magdalen Islands, covering the period 1971-76, which began under the FRED program and replaced the 1968 agreement on eastern Quebec; additional funds made available when the Agreement was revised facilitated a shift in emphasis to development programs. The Canada-Quebec Federal-Provincial Rural Agreement, 1971-75, which operates under the ARDA program, makes funds available to speed implementation of an integrated resource-development program in the Saguenay-Lac St-Jean and northwestern Quebec areas. The Canada-Quebec Federal-Provincial Agreement Concerning the Development of Special Areas covers development in the Quebec City, Trois-Rivières and Sept Îles-Port Cartier regions as well as in the sub-region of the new Montreal International Airport. Beginning in March 1974, the Bureau took over administration of the Quebec General Development Agreement which will replace the other federal development agreements as they expire.

The Ontario Economic Council, formed initially by Order in Council in 1962, was established by legislation in 1968. It is an organization in which representatives of a broad cross-section of informed people can pool their knowledge and experience regarding social and economic questions, commission research and formulate policy recommendations to the public and private sectors. At present, 21 Ontario citizens serve on the Council representing business, finance, labour, agriculture and universities. Each member serves without compensation for a term of one, two or three years. The Council meets not less than five times a year, generally in Toronto although meetings are held occasionally in other Ontario centres. A permanent Council staff undertakes direct assignments and supervises the design and administration of projects assigned to others on a consulting basis. Areas of study are established as a result of liaison and discussion with the public and private sectors.

The Council is an independent body. The results of its work are made available to government and the public and recent reports cover the fields of economic, environmental, social and municipal policies in Ontario. The Council works in co-operation with the Economic Council of Canada.

9.3.2 Industrial research

The Nova Scotia Research Foundation was created by the government of Nova Scotia in 1946 to provide industry and government with scientific and technical assistance in finding new and better ways to utilize the natural resources of the province and to assist the processing industries. The Foundation's laboratories are located in Dartmouth and were built with funds granted by the Atlantic Development Board on a 10-acre site donated by the province. The building was first occupied in 1969 and now houses a staff of 85 which includes 67 scientists and technicians.

The Foundation is governed by a board made up of scientists and industrialists and its operations are carried out in six divisions. The Geophysics Division carries out gravity, seismic, magnetic, well-logging and electromagnetic surveys on land, and seismic bottom